evden eve nakliyat evden eve nakliyat evden eve nakliyat evden eve nakliyat evden eve nakliyat evden eve nakliyat

Municipality of Grootfontein


Office of the Chief Executive

Charles Kariko – Acting Chief Executive Officer

Mr. JJ Oxurub – Town Secretary

The Municipality of Grootfontein is categorised as a Part Two Local Authority. It is tasked with the well being, development and growth of the town as well as the provision of basic services such as potable water, sewerage, refuse removal, public health, road infrastructure and land.

The Administration of the municipality is headed by a Chief Executive Officer. The local authority has five departments that administer and control the various aspects of the services it renders to the residents and businesses of Grootfontein.

Human Resources

Mr. AR Tsuseb – SE: Human Resource & Corporate Services

Located in the Municipal Offices at the main building, the Human Resources Department assists all other Departments with their staffing, benefits administration and Health & Safety training. Vacant or new positions are advertised under “Careers” through national newspapers.

The Department of Human Resources seeks to develop and administer innovative programs for personnel management that are fair, equitable, based solely on merit, and in compliance with applicable laws and regulations.

We will constantly work toward fostering an atmosphere of openness and customer service for both the internal and external customer in a manner that exceeds the customer’s expectations. Through partnering we will constantly strive to attract, develop and retain a highly qualified, diverse, dynamic and safe workforce.

How We Measure Success
The employees of the Human Resources & Corporate Communication define success in a high performance organization as follows:

  • To effectively define and communicate applicable regulatory requirements and enable departmental Compliance Team members to initiate and fulfill those requirements.
  • To be able to effectively communicate benefits information in a timely manner.
  • To function in a manner that respects employee confidentiality.
  • To provide excellent internal and external customer service, in order to attract and retain highly qualified personnel.
  • To effectively communicate the Town policies and procedures to all departments and see that they are consistently carried out.

Public Relations & Communications

Public Relations Officer

The Office of Public relations resort under the Office of the Chief Executive, serving as a communication link between the Council, Management Committee, the departments of the Municipality and the public at large.

The office uses various platforms and mediums of communication to solicit the views of the public, whilst consistently disseminating information on the objectives, programmes, decisions, actions and activities of the Grootfontein Municipality. The department also held regular meeting with Community Based Committee Leaders that has been recognize by council. The department of public relations and communinacations is also responsible for updating  the municipality website as well compilling the organisation monthly newsletter.

Finance & Information Technology

Mr. I. Hainghumbi – SE: Finance and IT

The Department of Finance consists of two divisions, being revenue and procurement and collections. This Department is responsible for financial administration of the Council and performs all accounting and related functions within the Council. It is aimed at strategic planning, programming, development of the department of finance and financial growth of the council as a whole.

The Finance & Information department provides accounting and financial services for all Departments of the Municipality. These functions include:

  • Annual Operating & Capital Budgeting;
  • Financial Reporting;
  • Accounts Payable;
  • Accounts Receivable;
  • Payroll;
  • Water/Sewer Billing & Collection; and
  • Property Taxation

The Department of Finance & Information Technology is working to develop and maintain modern information systems, which enhance employee efficiency in a cost-effective manner and thus better serve the citizens of Grootfontein.

This website is a project of the department of Finance & Information Technology. If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions, please contact Mr. Ileni Hainghumbi.

Town Engineer

The Department is responsible for road construction and maintenance, traffic control, sidewalk construction and maintenance, streetlights, sanitary sewer collection system, water distribution system, and waste management.

This department is also responsible dealing with all matters relating to engineering, subdivision and site plan development, plan review and agreement preparation. This department is managed by the Town Engineer. The divisions are managed by his deputy, along with the assistance of the Road Superintendent. The department is also responsible for development projects.

Environmental Health

Mr. J. Colesky – SE: Environmental Health

The department is mainly responsible for maintaining and improving health and environmental conditions for the Grootfontein and its population. The department consists of 20 employees distributed into various sections such as:

  • Health and Environmental Inspection and Disease Fighting Unit
  • Health and Environment Awareness and Guidance Unit.
  • Gardening and Abattoirs’ etc.

The department also comprises of HIV/AIDS department that is being administered by Mrs. Lucia Shikongo and the main objective of the department is to impart knowledge as well as disseminating information about HIV/AIDS to the employees of the council as well as the public at large. The department has a task force that which consist 10 people that has been designated from various divisions within the council. The aim and objectives of the task force is to distribute condoms, to give information regarding TB, ARV, STI’s, and behavioral change.

Department of Properties & Community Services

Mr. A. Rosseau – SE: Property & Community Services

Structure of the department

The staff at the department consists of strategic Executive, and Chief Controller: Mr. R. Ugelwi, a community development officer Mr. H.T Munjama, a housing officer Mrs. U. Venaani, an assistant community development officer Mr. E. Mombola, and an assistant housing officer Mr. Naftalie Dawids and Data Control typist Mrs. Surien Shetukana and six general workers.

The department as indicated by its name is responsible for properties and community services. The focus is on the following:

Build Together Programme
It is a programme that was implemented accommodates the low and ultra-low income of Namibia. The programme is implemented through town councils and regional councils. It’s divided in four sub-programmes:

Urban rural housing loans sub-programmes
More than one hundred houses have been constructed under this sub-programme from 14 show houses after that 1998/1999 up to 2009.
Single Quarter
The very first houses constructed were 14 show houses. After that 75 units were constructed. Currently 62 houses are under construction and the contractors are progressing very well. Another 22 houses from Malanami Houses were also purchase under these sub-programmes.
Informal settlement up-grading sub-programme
More than 300 plots has been allocated to this area. Communal facilities (toilets, taps etc) have been provided by the local authority for this reside